AP top player Murray adds O’Brien; Tua wins Camp

Dec 09, 2018, 01:18
AP top player Murray adds O’Brien; Tua wins Camp

Conveniently left out of the picture was Ohio State quarterback Dwayne Haskins - the third finalist for the award. Tagovailoa also won the Walter Camp Award, another award that goes to the best player in the country. He beat out Oklahoma's Kyler Murray and West Virginia's Will Grier for the award.

Senior wide receiver Tim Brown was the last Notre Dame player to win in 1987. He has also rushed for 892 yards and another 11 scores. Murray was named The Associated Press college football Player of the Year, Thursday, Dec. 6, 2018.

More news: Stephen Curry's Porsche Takes A Beating In Multi-Car Accident

While an Oklahoma quarterback sets his sights on the College Football Playoffs, he has another prestigious award to add to his collection.

The Walter Camp victor has won the Heisman the last five seasons.

More news: Kevin Durant Reacts To $25K Fine For Cursing Out Heckler

The O'Brien Award was initially given to the top player in the Southwest before going to a quarterback-only honor in 1981. Only twice since 2002 has the AP Player of the Year not won the Heisman, Nebraska's Ndamukong Suh in 2009 and Stanford's Christian McCaffrey in 2015. Murray, who batted.296 with 10 home runs and 13 doubles in 50 games as the Sooners' center fielder, signed for almost $5 million, with the A's agreeing to let him return to school and play football this season. No other school has had more than two AP Player of the Year winners. He received a $4.6 million signing bonus from the A's with the expectation that this would be his last season on the gridiron.

As for raw numbers, Murray has thrown for 4,053 yards, 40 touchdowns and just seven interceptions while completing 71 percent of his passes.

More news: White House Reportedly Backtracks, Will Not Seek Revocation of Jim Acosta’s Credential

But, after an electrifying season that saw Murray eviscerate opposing defenses on his way to becoming a Heisman Trophy finalist, the 21-year-old might be eyeing a more exclusive path.